DSC07935-C

Basics of Telugu prosody:The earliest of poems in ‘kanda’ metrical composition-2

   With all the important basic metrical characteristics/principles connected with ‘kanda’ poem as listed in the previous post  known clearly, I now try to explain observance of all these principles by the writer or composer of the first ‘kanda’ poem in the above discussed ‘gangaadharaM’ inscription, making it to serve as an illustrative example to understand all the things connected with telling/composing a ‘kanda’ poem in Telugu language.

        Firstly, to easily understand to which type of gaNamu a letter-unit in a line (foot) of poem belongs, there is conventional way of indicating the relevant letter or consonant with signs ‘I’ (a short vertical line) to indicate a short consonant/letter which is called ‘laghuvu’ (a short one) (so far as its relevance to  ‘kanda’ poem, it is equivalent to one ‘maatra’) and with sign ‘U’ (English alphabet U) to indicate a long consonant/letter which is called ‘guruvu’ (a longer one or weighted one).

       In that way, keeping in view the fact that ‘kanda’ poem in Telugu language is formed with letter-units (gaNamulu) of 4 maatras (i.e., four short letters/mataas; one short one/one long one/one short one and its variants; two long ones) – the names of the gaNaas and their formation are indicated below:

గగ (గగము) gaga mu – UU

భ (గణము) bha gaNamu – UII

జ  (గణము)  ja gaNamu – IUI

స (గణము) sa gaNamu –  IIU

నల (నలము)  nala mu – II

     With these signs sufficiently informed, now let us examine the distribution of these letter-units (that is known as gaNa prastaaramu in prosodial parlance) in the first ‘kanda’ poem in gangaadharaM inscription.

First line

జినభవనము లెత్తించుట

నలము – nalamu భ (గణము) bha gaNamu భ (గణము) bha gaNamu
I I I I I I U U I I
జి ము లె త్తిం చు
ji na bha va naM bu le ttiM chu Ta

Here is a small note to the totally beginners to understand – the consonant or letter prior to the letter/consonant which is a double consonant (like ‘త్తిం’ ‘ttiM’ in the above line) shall be treated as guruvu (a long one – equivalent to two ‘maatras’). Accordingly the letter/consonant ‘లె’ ‘le’  is to be treated as ‘guruvu’ and marked accordingly.

Second line

జినపూజల్సేయుచున్కి జినమునులకు న

 

స (గణము) sa gaNamu గగ (గగము) gaga జ  (గణము)  ja gaNamu నల (నలము)  nala mu స (గణము) sa gaNamu
I I U U U I U I I I I I I I U
జి పూ ల్సే యు చు న్కి జి ము ను కు
ji na puu ja lsea yu chu nki ji na mu nu la ku na

 

Here is also another note for the totally beginners – The last letter/consonant ‘న’ ‘na’ in the above line was marked as ‘U’ (guruvu) since the letter/consonant that followed it ‘త్తి’ ‘tti’ (which appears as the first letter in the next line) is a double consonant.

Third line

త్తిన యన్నదాన మీవుట

స (గణము) sa gaNamu జ  (గణము)  ja gaNamu భ (గణము) bha  gaNamu
I I U I U I U I I
త్తి న్న దా మీ వు
tti na ya nna daa na mii vu Ta

 Last Line

జిన వల్లభు బోలగలరె జినధర్మపరుల్.

స (గణము) sa gaNamu స (గణము) sa gaNamu నల (నలము)  nala mu స (గణము) sa gaNamu స (గణము) sa gaNamu
I I U I I U I I I I I I U I I U
జి ల్ల భు బో రె జి ర్మ రుల్
ji na va lla bhu boe la ga la re ji na dha rma pa rul

One thought on “Basics of Telugu prosody:The earliest of poems in ‘kanda’ metrical composition-2

Leave a Reply

